The Organization

We focus on existing, commercially available technologies, systems and processes, help connect legal requirements and best practices to funding, and identify potential barriers to adoption or implementation.

The Board

Jonathan Flaherty Chair Senior Director of Sustainability, Tishman Speyer

Donna De Costanzo Vice Chair Director, Eastern Region, Climate & Clean Energy Program

E. Gail Suchman Secretary Special Counsel, Stroock & Stroock & Lavan LLP; Lecturer in Environmental Law and Sustainable Development, Columbia Law School

Elizabeth Girardi-Schoen Treasurer Global Environmemt Leader, Pfizer Inc.

Jan Berman Director President, MechoSystems

Charles Cameron Director Controls Specialist, Stan Deutsch Associates

Mark Chambers Ex-Officio Director Director, Mayor's Office of Sustainability, NYC Office of the Mayor

Rebecca Craft Director Founder & Principal, TurnCraft Advisors

Emily Dean Director Director, Market Development, NYSERDA

Daniel Egan Director Vice President, Head of Sustainability and Utilities, Vornado Realty Trust

Carl Hum Director Senior Vice President, Management Services & Government Affairs, Real Estate Board of New York

John Gilbert Director Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer, Rudin Management Company

Daniel Kindbergh Executive Vice President, Operations, U.S. Office Division Brookfield Properties

Vicki Kuo Director Director, Energy Efficiency & Demand Management, Con Edison

Robert Lurie Director Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, New York Power Authority

Sydney Mainster Director Director of Sustainability, The Durst Organization

Louis Rizzo Director Manager, Community & Customer Management, National Grid

Pat Sapinsley Director Managing Director, Clean Tech Initiatives, NYU Polytechnic School of Engineering

Ashok Gupta Director Emeritus Senior Energy Economist, Natural Resources Defense Council

Laurie Kerr Director Emeritus Director of Policy, Urban Green Council

Our Staff

Richard C. Yancey Executive Director

Yetsuh Frank Managing Director, Strategy and Programs

Talia Kula Associate

Helen Chananie Project Associate

Ashley Verhines Programs Associate

Catherine Gonsalves Programs Assistant

Chitra Mamidela Programs Intern

Rachel Bernstein Programs Intern


NYC Retrofit Accelerator The NYC Retrofit Accelerator offers free, personalized advisory services that streamline the process of making energy efficiency improvements to buildings that reduce operating costs, enhance tenant comfort, and improve the environment.

IESNYC IESNYC is a volunteer professional membership organization dedicated to promoting both the art and science of illumination to members, professional organizations, industries, and the public through events, programs, educational series, and networking opportunities.

New York Passive House New York Passive House (NYPH) works to promote the Passive House standard for a healthy, comfortable and energy-efficient built environment through public outreach, education, and advocacy.

Brussels Invest & Export Brussels Invest & Export / is the foreign trade and investment department of the Brussels Regional Public Service. Its aim is to expand the Brussels-Capital Region's economic development into international markets.

UNECE The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) is one of the five United Nations Regional Commissions working to implement the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

ASHRAE ASHRAE is a diverse organization dedicated to advancing the arts and sciences of heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration to serve humanity and promote a sustainable world.

NYC DCAS –Division of Energy Management


Industry Council

Rachel Berman MechoShade Systems

Jan Berman MechoShade Systems

Gene Boniberger Rudin

Ed Bricker ASHRAE NY

Randall Brobson Goldman Sachs

Chuck Cameron Stan Deutsch

Chris Cayten CodeGreen

Rebecca Craft Essense Partners

Emily Dean NYSERDA

Donna DeCostanzo NRDC

Adam Early Goldman Sachs

Dan Egan Vornado

Evin Epstein SL Green Realty Corp.

Gregg Fischer Tishman Speyer

JP Flaherty Tishman Speyer

Etienne Frenette Ecosystem

Sarah Gilly Gotham360

Liz Girardi Schoen Pfizer


Carl Hum REBNY

Pete Jacobson IESNYC

Ron Jerman Durst

Carol Jones Axis Lighting

Doug Kafka Lutron

Vicki Kuo Con Edison

Carlos Lopez Vornado

Robert Lurie NYPA

Charlie Marino ASHRAE NY

Caleb McKenzie IESNYC

Karen Oh Vornado

Dan Piselli FX Collaborative

Michael Reed NYSERDA

Luis Rios Rudin

Louis Rizzo National Grid

Lindsay Robbins NRDC

David Robinson Mecho

Paul Roux Roux Associates

Pat Sapinsley Urban Future Lab

Michael Scorrano EN-POWER

Phil Skalaski Durst

David Thurm Lehrer

Shawn Torbert ROCKWOOL

Jonce Walker Thornton Tomasetti

Wolfgang Werner Urban Fabrick

Steven Winter SWA

Want the latest news from Building Energy Exchange?

Sign Up Below For Updates